PDA

View Full Version : Skin shedding as white flakes

Varun
11-15-2008, 11:04 AM
I am a 20yr old student from India,
I am having this problem from the past 3 to 4 years, i have white flakes of skin falling from my scalp all the time but when i don not have head bath even for one day my scalp starts emmiting foul smell which is prety embarassing for me, so i have to have head bath each and everyday.
Can i know what is my problem, i never consulted a doctor for the problem but have used many anti dandruff shampoos which never worked for me.

mimico
11-15-2008, 01:58 PM
Is water expensive in India? I take a bath every day as well because I don't like skipping baths. Not only do I get clean, I also feel a lot better when I go to sleep. So if water's not expensive in your area then I don't see why you can't take a bath every day. Anyway, the white flakes are probably dandruff. Try using an anti-dandruff shampoo like Head&shoulders for a while. :)

Dr.Deepak
11-15-2008, 03:45 PM
Wash your head with shampoo containig salicylic acid or selenium sulfide it can be easily brought in medical stores in india ,but make sure to use only 2-3 times a week not daily.Wash your hair with normal shampoo daily then use the above mentioned medical shampoos 2-3 times a week .your problem will possible be solved.

vencasand
11-16-2008, 02:49 PM
you could have a fungal infection on your head. i know this sounds horrible but it is more common than some think. you can try nizoral shampoo. i don't know if it is available without rx in india. generic name is ketoconazole. it works well for a lot of people. it is good to wash your hair every day. i do. i have below the waist long hair. i have psoriasis in my hair but it does not emit an odor. try the nizoral shampoo. if this doesn't help i would see a doctor.

Solidone
01-16-2009, 08:48 PM