PDA

View Full Version : Facial dermatitis and acne combined problem

MaRinA
04-08-2013, 12:55 PM
Hi,

this may seem odd, since dermatitis is known by dry and scaly skin, while acne are typical for oily skin, but for a year now, I have reoccurring problem of combination of facial acne and dermatitis, or periods of facial dermatitis followed by acne. I am 26 years old, and I have diagnosed neurodermatitis since I was two years old. Some years I had no outbreaks of dermatitis at all, and some years very bad rashes, typically on the inner side of the elbow bends, and knee bends, sometimes on the fingers. Couple of years ago, it all stopped until last year. Last year, I graduated from college and got a job, and then, dermatitis appeared on my face. I had an acne or two when I was a teenager, and typically I had a bit oily skin, but no serious problems, I had a clear and clean face. But, since dermatitis moved to the face, acne started appearing all over my face and usually number of them at the same time, after stressful period on the job. Dermatitis usually occurs below eyebrows and on the cheeks while acne appear on the cheeks and on the chin. I cannot describe to you what a shock it was to me, since I went through my teenage years with no acne problem, and now, I am an adult with significant acne problem. Even worse problem is that I cannot treat acne nor dermatitis properly. Acne creams and lotions dry out the skin which amplifies dermatitis problems, while dermatitis creams usually have an oily basis and make my acne worse. I cannot wear a make up since it makes both problems worse, but I have to cover the redness somehow since I look like a red-face monster if I don't do it. I tried Synchroline products, and gel against acne works well for me, but cremes against redness as well as acne just don't work for me - making one or another condition worse. The only thing that helps for now is Aloe vera deep hydrogenation treatment, but it is a 7 day program which should n