PDA

View Full Version : Looking for second opinions on this "rash" (pics)

Dystophia
08-28-2012, 09:33 PM
Hey guys, I have this "rash" thing on my side. It's been here for months and months and months and I can't afford to go to the doctor just yet, so I was wondering if it looks like something that NEEDS to be seen by a doctor immediately. I've gotten some opinions from other people and they say it looks like ringworm, but it doesn't have a ring around it. It itches of course. My main concern is that it's some sort of cancer, but I'm really hoping that I'm being a hypochondriac about it. Well, here's the pictures:

Thank you guys for your time.

pepsimax
08-29-2012, 12:32 AM
Hello and sorry to hear you've got a problem rash. Although I am not an expert I wouldn't worry about cancer although it may be something that should be treated.
Here are a few questions which if you can answer may help someone to advise you.
Did your circumstances change prior to getting the rash? Change of home, job, etc.
Is the rash/itch worse at certain times? Morning/evening. Before/after shower, exercise, wearing tight clothes, that sort of thing?
Has it stayed the same or got worse or at times better since you first had it?
That's all I can think of for now and hopefully someone will be along soon to help you.
Above all don't worry unduly. Stress and worry will only add to some conditions so could make it worse.

Dystophia
08-29-2012, 04:24 AM
Thanks! I can't notice it getting more itchy at certain specific times, though it does itch on and off seemingly at random. It's been about the same size for about six months now and hasn't gotten worse or better. No change of home or jobs prior to the rash or any events I can think of.

pepsimax
08-30-2012, 05:39 AM
From what I can see of the picture it doesn't look like ringworm and that is highly contagious so no doubt would have spread if it was that. It looks very similar to contact eczema, maybe from a belt or something like that.