PDA

View Full Version : Any views on Tretinoin?

pepsimax
12-31-2010, 04:00 AM
I just wondered if anyone here has used Retin A or any product containing Tretinoin whether for acne/scaring or as a wrinkle cream? Also please comment if you have a view of this product either positive or negative.

I ask because I am approaching 40 and have pretty good(ish) skin for my age. My only problem is scaring from teenage acne. It was so severe for many years I have tried every cream, tablet etc that was about.The only thing that actually made a huge difference was a long course of Roaccutane. Now my skin is ageing I feel the scars (although minor) are more prominent.
I read about Retin A for a long time and decided I would give it a go. As it is a prescription only medicine here I had to purchase one online from abroad. I wasnt even sure it would get through customs but it did.
Anyway I have been using it now for about 2 months starting off every few days like advised until now I use a tiny amount every day.
I didn't feel it was working at first and I didnt suffer this excessive dryness that most people reported, (I did start on the 0.025% cream) but now it seems to have worked wonders. I follow a very strict cleansing and moisturising routine and I seem to be reaping all the benefits without the side effects. This still amazes me as I suffered horrendous dry skin on every inch of my body when taking Roaccutane.

So yeah any feedback on this, good or bad I would like to hear.

vencasand
12-31-2010, 03:54 PM
tretinoin is very good to help reduce scarring from acne and to help wrinkles. i would start with it mixed in with other ingredients. it can be harsh on some peoples skin. i just got an eye cream with it in to help me. i am beyond help though i am 61!!!. i have read much on retin a and i work at a pharmacy. it is a good product but like i said use it wisely.

Dr.Deepak
12-31-2010, 08:23 PM